In Pennsylvania, charges of possession with intent to distribute a controlled substance result in significant legal penalties. These vary depending on the substance, the amount and the circumstances of the arrest.
If you face these types of charges, learn more about the potential consequences before your court date.
You could receive a felony conviction for PWID cocaine or crack cocaine in Pennsylvania. These charges involve prison time and permanently remain on your criminal record. If you have no prior offenses, penalties may include:
- A $5,000 fine and a mandatory minimum of one year in prison for fewer than 2 grams of powder cocaine
- A $5,000 fine and a mandatory minimum of two years in prison for 2 to 10 grams of powder cocaine
- A mandatory minimum of three years in prison for 10 to 100 grams of powder cocaine
- A mandatory minimum of four years in prison for more than 100 grams of powder cocaine
- A mandatory minimum of five years in prison for more than 5 grams of crack cocaine
PWID charges involving methamphetamine also constitute felony offenses in Pennsylvania. For a first-time conviction, you could receive:
- A mandatory minimum three-year prison sentence for 5 to 10 grams
- A mandatory minimum four-year prison sentence for 10 to 100 grams
- A mandatory minimum five-year prison sentence for more than 100 grams
Pennsylvania also considers PWID for heroin a felony offense. If you have no prior history, penalties may include:
- A $5,000 fine and a mandatory two-year prison sentence for 1 to 5 grams
- A $15,000 fine and a mandatory three-year prison sentence for 5 to 50 grams
- A $25,000 fine and a mandatory five-year prison sentence for more than 50 grams
Some first-time offenders may be able to avoid a prison sentence by enrolling in the state drug court program. These courts, which operate at the county level, provide supervised drug and alcohol rehabilitation.